Charmed · Stories

Charmed #4

On Thursday morning at work I’m more cheerful than usual and it had nothing to do with Brandon. I smile because I think I’ve finally gotten over him.

That is until he walks into my office and my heart skips again.

“What’s wrong with you? My inner self asks shaking her head.

I manage to shun her and focus on Brandon, that was when I noticed he was looking at me strangely.

“What is it?” I ask

He ignores me as usual, walks towards my desk, pulls out a seat and sits down. Typical Brandon.

He picks up a file on my desk and flips through it. I know he is doing all this on purpose just because I asked him that question. I’m infuriated.

I sigh. Uh-oh!

I really should stop doing that everytime he gets on my nerves. I glance at him.

He raises his eyebrow as he looks at me and asks “I’m I disturbing you Miss Barber?”

“Miss Barber?” My inner self faints.

“No” I reply because I’m not sure I can utter more than one word without an insult attached.

“Good” he says standing up.

“I need you in Paris on Friday. The supermodel refused to work with anyone but you during the Paris fashion week”.

My face lights up instantly. Adriana asked for me personally? My inner self dances around. Yes I know it’s not New York, London or even Milan fashion week but it’s the next best thing. I’m too excited right now.

“Okay, I’ll be there”. I say nonchalantly and go back to my files.

Few seconds later I look up and he is still looking at me with a smirk on his face.

“Anything else?” I ask.

He just turns and walks away.

I pick my phone and dial Lindy immediately. I’m dying to tell someone about this.

“Hi June” she says in her usual cheerful manner.

“Guess what?” I ask.

“You won two tickets for a free trip to Tahiti?” She asks shouting.

I roll my eyes.

“Even better. I’m going to the Paris fashion week. Adriana wants me to collaborate with a known designer to design her clothes for the week. I’ll be leaving tomorrow”. I say breathlessly.

“Oh my God!!! Say bible”. Lindy shrieks.

“Bible”. I say laughing.

“Wow!! I’m so happy for you, we have to celebrate tonight.”

“Totally, see you later. Kisses.” I hang up but still can’t wipe the smile off my face. I almost stand to do a tap dance around my office when I hear a knock on my door.

“Come in”.

My secretary, Tanya walks in with a big bouquet of flowers. They are tulips, my favorite. And a card.

“This was just delivered for you”. She says handing it over to me.

“Thanks” I reply as I smell the flowers. The scent was heavenly.

I open the card and it read “I had a wonderful time with you last night, hope to see you more often. Chase Henley”.

“Could this day get any better??” I can’t stop smiling.

****************************************

The day finally came to an end and I leave to go home and prepare for the night I’m sure Lindy is already waiting for.

On my way home I dial Chase from the car and he picks on the second ring.

“Hi Chase, I got the flowers. I love them, thanks and sorry I’m just calling now”.

“You’re welcome and I already figured you were busy at work. Anyways, I was planning to call and ask if you were busy tomorrow”. He says.

I tell him all about the Paris fashion week, the design opportunity and Adriana and he is genuinely thrilled for me.

“What time do you leave for Paris tomorrow?”

I gasp. I haven’t even checked the available flights. In my over excited state, I forgot to do the most important thing.

“What is it?” He asks.

I explained to him and he told me not to worry. Turns out he had strings to pull at the airport to get me on a flight tomorrow.

“Thanks Chase, you are a lifesaver. My boss would have probably sent me to the guillotine.” I say breathing out in relief.

“Good thing we just solved this because I wouldn’t want anything happening to your pretty head” he says with just a hint of amusement in his voice.

I laugh. He makes me laugh. I think of Brandon and wonder if he can make me laugh.

“So, are you supposed to be at work tomorrow morning?” He asks.

I really should stop thinking of Brandon and stop mentally comparing him with Chase.

“No, I have the day off to get ready”.

“Have breakfast with me”.

There’s something about the way he says it. He wasn’t exactly ordering me to but he wasn’t asking me either. It was so sexy and I couldn’t have said no even if I wanted to.

“Sure”. I reply. What’s the harm?? But I was already going into overdrive wondering where he was going to take me. I’ve never been on a breakfast date before.

“I’ll see you tomorrow June. Have a good night”.

I pulled into my driveway just as the call ended. I was too tired and all I wanted to do was sleep. I call Lindy and beg her for a rain check on our night but she understands and tells me to rest.

I unlock the door and walk straight to the kitchen to microwave some leftovers. After eating I manage to remove my clothes when I entered my room and fell straight into bed. I slept off as soon as my head hit the pillow.

Friday morning I woke up and got ready for my breakfast date. I wore a blue jean trouser and a frilly white shirt. I packed my hair up in a high ponytail and it on mild makeup. I wore low ankle boots and a light jacket. The air was usually foggy around this time of the morning.

At 7.30, Chase pulled up in front of my house and I went outside to meet him. As I stepped out of the house he got down from the car and kissed my cheek before opening the car door for me. He was driving a Ferrari today.

“I love your car”. I tell him as he pulls out of the driveway.

“Thanks”. He replies smiling.

He took me to The Front Porch Cafe at 1458 Ocran Drive Miami Beach and we ordered crab cake with egg Benedict, French toast and extra crispy tacos with fruit juice. I’ve never had so much breakfast in my life but I loved every bite. Who knew tacos were good for breakfast??

We stroll round the beach hand in hand in a bid to work the food off. It was really nice just walking round the beach when it was so calm and serene.

The beach wasn’t empty though, kids played around in groups while walking their dogs, some adults on their early morning run, old people just basking in the sun delighted for life and some couples just strolling casually. The ocean too seemed to be calm with mild waves while surfers rode the waves the best they could. It was all such a beautiful sight.

On our way back I mentioned I needed to buy a few things and before I knew it Chase was soon driving me round Miami. From Alchemist to Fox house, Splash and Shay Studio for clothes, shoes and bags then Zara, Mac and MaryKay for makeup.

At the end I had more than ten shopping bags of new clothes, shoes, bags and cosmetics. I was thrilled.

“I still can’t believe you bought all these for me”. I tell him on our way home. I’m thrilled because even though I could afford it all it still felt nice to have someone buying them for me without asking him to.

“It’s really nothing. Your happiness is all I desire”. He says smiling then turns and winks at me.

I blush.

My heart almost bursts into pieces in my chest. He desires my happiness? Where have you been all my life Chase??

“Thanks”. I reply shyly.

“You’re welcome”.

After he pulls into my driveway and parks the car, he helps me take the bags inside then says he has another surprise for me. Naturally I ask him immediately what the surprise was but he refuses to spill.

“Tell me what it is please!!”. I’m literally begging him now because I just can’t deal with not knowing. After all the excitement of this morning, I just can’t imagine anything more.

He laughs, drawing me out of my thoughts.

“If I tell you it wouldn’t be a surprise anymore. I’ll see you at the airport. Wear something sexy”. He kisses my cheek again then leaves.

“What are you up to Chase?? I’m dying to find out”. These are the thoughts in my head as I take the bags upstairs ready to start packing.

8 thoughts on “Charmed #4

  1. nicezzz…am so jealous of her luv lyf ryt now.seriously if chase surprise happen to be flying June to Paris on a private jet wit him being d pilot,am definitely going to drink rat poison..

Leave a Reply

